Best Oceans Policies Awarded at UN Biodiversity Summit

 On October 17, 2012, the Republic of Palau, the Philippines and Namibia were honored with the Future Policy Award 2012 for best policies to protect oceans and coasts. The awards were announced in a ceremony that took place during the Eleventh meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity in Hyderabad, India.

Palau was honoured with the Gold Award in recognition of two outstanding marine policies, the Protected Areas Network Act, initiated in 2003, and the Shark Haven Act from 2009. The two Silver Awards were given to the Philippines for its Tubbataha Reefs Natural Park Act from 2010 and to Namibia for its Marine Resources Act from 2000.

The ceremony was convened by the World Future Council, the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD), the Global Environment Facility (GEF) and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), with support from the Okeanos Foundation.

More information can be found at: or

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *