New Year, Big News: OSPESCA awarded the FAO Margarita Lizárraga Medal

The Organización del Sector Pesquero y Acuícola del Istmo Centroamericano (OSPESCA, translated as Central America Fisheries and Aquaculture Organization) has been awarded the FAO Margarita Lizárraga Medal for its significant contribution to the implementation of the Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries. The decision was made by the Selection Committee in July 2012 and was made public in December last year.

The organization was recognized for its significant, tangible and sustainable contribution to the sustainable development of fisheries and aquaculture in Central America. The decision highlighted the fact that it is a model intergovernmental organization and an example to be followed by other regions.

The members of OSPESCA are Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama. Dominican Republic has Associated State status.

Congratulations to OSPESCA, the member States and the people whose work has made these achievements possible.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *